27 September, Siargao Island – Philippines:  Quarterfinalists were decided after Rounds 2 and 3 were completed in pulsing 3-4 foot Cloud 9 today at the Siargao International Surfing Cup in beautiful Siargao Island.

The expected increase in swell provided the international contestants with plenty of opportunities to pull into the world-renowned Cloud 9 barrels, as well as boosting airs and smashing big turns, with the Siargao crew clearly showing their local advantage in the face of the international contestants.

Out of the 8 quarterfinalists, 6 are local Siargao surfers, with one Indonesian, last year’s winner Putra Hermawan, and 16 year old Australian Chris Zaffis the remaining interrnationals.

“I’m pretty stoked to still be in it…really I’m surprised to be one of the only international surfers left in the comp, but proud to be flying the flag for Australia,” said Chris.  “I’m looking forward to a pumping morning of surf tomorrow, coz I just want to get barreled and make it into the final!” he added.

The Siargao locals in the quarterfinals are the usual suspects, a mix of previous event winners and Cloud 9 tube masters made up of “Piso” Alcala, “Osot” Alcala, “Dodo” Espijon, Philmar Alipayo, Carlito Nogalo, and “Marama” Tokong.  Almost without exception, everyone on the island goes by a nickname!

On sundown there were 4-6 foot sets blasting over the reef for the two dozen freesurfers enjoying a late session, so tomorrow’s finale should see some event better waves than today for an exciting finale to the event.  There is a 6:30 am call out for the 8 quarterfinalists, so stay tuned!

Check out the highlight clips so far, courtesy of Indo Inc’s Sean Gilhooley

Day 1:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfas6Oz6eJc

Day 2:

Round 2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2m7DwFy50_A&feature=youtu.be

Round 3:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KaeA4qqXuUw&feature=youtu.be


Stay tuned for the exciting conclusion tomorrow, and see all the results at http://www.aspworldtour.com/events/2014/mqs/1078/siargao-cloud-9-surfing-cup/results

The 2014 Siargao International Surfing Cup is a co-sanctioned 1-star ASP Men’s World Qualifying event and a ASC Grade 4 event that will run from 24 – 28 September 2014 and boasts US$15,000 Prize Money.

The 20th Siargao International Surfing Cup is presented by the MVP Group of Companies and Manila Mining Corporation, with event organizers the Municipality of General Luna and Provincial Government of Surigao del Norte) and support by the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority (TIEZA), the Philippine Department of Tourism, Cloud 9 Boardriders Club and Fluid Surf.

The event is sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals and the Asian Surfing Championships with the assistance of the Philippine Surfing Federation.



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment