Mencos “Baby Funk” Styles to Victory in the Inaugural Longboard Division Final at Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver

15 June 2011, Cimaja-West Java:  In the thrilling 30 minute final of the inaugural Longboard Division at the Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver today at Cimaja Point, Mencos “Baby Funk” from Batu Keras styled his way to victory with a combination of Hang 10’s, Hang 5’s, Cheater 5’s, and other classic maneuvers.  Fellow Batu Keras longboard pro Husni surfed brilliantly but came up short to settle for second place, the Philippines Luke Landrigan took third place, and Coca-Cola ISC CEO Tipi Jabrik put in a worthy effort for a fourth place finish.

In addition to his first place win, Mencos (real name, Arif Nur Hidayat) also nabbed the Power Balance “Power Nose Ride” cash prize of Rp 1 million.

Round 3 of the dual-sanctioned Coca-Cola ISC and ASC Open Division was also completed today with the 16 competitors that made it through their Round 1 and 2 heats meeting the top 16 seeded pro surfers of the Coca-Cola ISC Tour, the best professional surfers in South East Asia.

The action was nothing short of spectacular, as the round was bookended by possibly the most exciting and closely contested heats of the year.

Heat 1 of Round 3 saw the a major upset as current rankings co-leader Raditya Rondi was knocked out by Mustofa Jeksen and Rahtu Suargita. Jeksen jumped into the lead at the start of the heat and punctuated his dominance by posting the highest single wave score yet in the competition, an 8 out of a possible 10, to end the heat with a combined score of 13.50.  Suargita posted a respectable 7-point wave to end with a combined score of 12.45.  The best Rondi could do was a 5.75 for a small air reverse.

Literally every heat in the round contained very narrow margins between the competitor’s point’s totals, with strategy, tactics, and a bit of luck all playing a role.

2010 Coca-Cola ISC Open and Pro Junior Champion Putra Hermawan was taken out by a solidly in form Lee Wilson and lightning fast Garut Widiarta in Heat 6, with Wilson besting Jeksen’s previous top score with a huge 8.75 to post both the highest single wave score as well as the highest combined score of the event so far, a 15.25 out of 20.

The final of the day was in a word spectacular, with the sun getting low in the West and the moon rising in the east, home town hero and last year’s event winner Dede Suryana paddled out to do battle with rival and last year’s runner up Pepen Hendrik, as well as Nyoman Wastika and Wayan Wirtama.

It was a riveting final that kept gaining momentum as time raced along, as Suryana and Hendrik traded blows to the delight and cheers of the crowd, each surfer attacking the waves and putting up big maneuvers til the horn blew, with Suryana again coming out on top with a final combined score of 13.35 to Hendrik’s 12.00.

Tomorrow’s Round 4 man-on-man action promises to be even hotter and heavier, as the competitors begin to feel the pressure of the business end of the competition, so be sure to come to Cimaja to check out the Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver in person, or you can also follow the on-line and view heat draws, heat and waves scores, video’s and photos and more at and on Facebook look up Indonesian Surfing Championship, Quiksilver Indonesia, and Roxy Indonesia.

The Best West Java 2011 Surf Competition is presented by Quiksilver and supported by Jim Beam, Coca-Cola Amatil Indonesia, Desa Resort & Spa, Augusta Hotel and Restaurant, Heineken, Power Balance, Pemda Sukabumi, Java Sport & Tourism Authority, and TP3TP.


News by:

Coca-Cola ISC Tour – ASC

Tim Hain – Media Director

Tel: +628123606674





You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment