Lee Wilson Claims Victory in Thrilling Open Division Final at Best West Java Surfing Competition Presented by Quiksilver

18 June 2011, Cimaja-West Java: In a thrilling climax to the six days of intense surfing at the 6-star Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver, Lee Wilson put on an incredible display of surfing against Pepen Hendrik to claim victory and climb atop the podium to claim his winners check of Rp 20 million, as well as the Coca-Cola ISC Highest Score Award of Rp 1 million for his 9 point wave during the 35 minute final.


Hendrik receives a check for Rp 8 million as well as the Power Balance “Power Move” cash prize of Rp 5 million.  His runner up finish also puts him into the Number 1 spot in the Coca-Cola ISC Open Division rankings.


Wilson was arguably the most consistent performer of the Open Division competition, regularly posting above-average scores during his heats with a combination of critical and high-risk maneuvers. This was what he needed to do to best Hendrik, who is without a doubt the most consistent performer on the Coca-Cola Indonesian Championship Tour.  Hendrik was also last year’s event runner up and has placed second in each of the Coca-Cola ISC tour events thus far this year.

The Open final took place in consistent 3-foot wave conditions and a slight side-shore breeze, with a big crowd gathered on the beach to watch the show.  Wilson was first on the scoreboard with a small inside wave, before going ballistic on a medium sized set wave to post the event’s highest single wave score of a 9 out of a possible 10 points, putting Hendrik in the pressure cooker.  “I knew it was a good wave, because I don’t think I could have surfed it any better, but was still surprised that it was a 9,” said Wilson.  “But I knew I had to have a better score, so even getting a 5.25 on my next wave didn’t make me comfortable.  I got kinda nervous after that, because I know that Pepen would have no problem matching or beating my 9-point wave if he got the right wave.  It wasn’t until I got that 7.9 that I calmed down and thought I might have the win in hand.”


Hendrik was understandably disappointed to get his third second-place finish in as many events, but had a smile on his face for his friend Lee.  “I was so close on my last wave, getting an 8.5.  I wish I could have gotten it sooner and then I could have maybe won.  But I’m glad to be in another final, I just want to finally win one,” he said.  “It’s great for Lee, because he really needed to do well.”  Had there been more time, Hendrik would have needed another 8.5 wave score to best Wilson.  The final heat score for Wilson was 16.90 to Hendrik’s 15.79.


Just prior to the Coca-Cola ISC and ASC Open Division final, the Master’s Division finalists took to the water to battle it out for the Rp 5 million prize purse on offer.  Dominating the heat was Cimaja local Sujari, who is Dede Suryana’s older brother.  Sujari jumped out into the lead and kept busy racking up points, catching more waves than any of the other competitors.  Towards the end of the final, last year’s Masters winner Ketut Wirtawan began to close the gap, but just couldn’t find another 6-point wave to overtake Sujari for the lead.  Sujari receives Rp 2.5 million rupiah for his win today.

At the beachside winners presentation in the early afternoon, in addition to the Open and Master’s, the Women’s and Longboard Division finalists were also presented with their trophies and awards.  The finals in those divisions were run earlier in the week.


Iis from Batu Karas West Java received her first place trophy and winner’s check for Rp 2.5 million in the Women’s Division, and Mencos (also from Batu Karas) received his first place trophy and winners check for Rp 2.5 million in addition to the Power Balance “Power Nose Ride” cash prize of Rp 1 million.


Febri Rohaye won the Power Balance  “Power Move” Women’s award of Rp 1 million, and Yudi Andika won the DC Shoes “Most Innovative Maneuver” award of Rp 5 million, and Mega Semadhi won the Quiksilver-Lines Airshow award of Rp 1 million.


Coca-Cola ISC – ASC Open Division Results

1      Lee Wilson (Bali)

2      Pepen Hendrik (Bali)

3      Marlon Gerber and Dedi Santoso

Coca-Cola ISC Masters Division Results

1      Sujari (West Java)

2      Ketut Wirtawan (Bali)

3      Nyoman Wastika (Bali)

4      Made Lapur (Bali)

Coca-Cola ISC – ASC Longboard Division Results

1      Arif Nur Hidayat aka Mencos (West Java)

2      Husni (West Java)

3      Luke Landrigan (Philippines)

4      Tipi Jabrik (Bali)

Coca-Cola ISC – ASC Women’s Division Results

1      Iis Trisnawati (West Java)

2      Yasyniar “Bonne” Gea (Nias)

3      Diah Rahayu Dewi (Bali)

4      Febrie Rohaye (Sumatra)


Power Balance Awards

Best Power Move (Men)– Pepen Hendrik = Rp 5 million

Best Power Move (Women) – Febri Royahe = Rp 1 million

Best Power Nose Ride – Mencos = Rp 1 million

DC Shoes Most Innovative Maneuver Award – Yudi Andika = Rp 5 million

Coca-Cola ISC Highest Wave Score – Lee Wilson = Rp 1 million

Coca-Cola Encouragement Award – Dennis Nasution = New Surfboard

The Best West Java 2011 Surf Competition was presented by Quiksilver and supported by Jim Beam, Coca-Cola Amatil Indonesia, Desa Resort & Spa, Augusta Hotel and Restaurant, Heineken, Power Balance, Pemda Sukabumi, Java Sport & Tourism Authority, and TP3TP.

News by:

Coca-Cola ISC Tour – ASC

Tim Hain – Media Director

Tel: +628123606674

Email: tim@isctour.com




You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment