Hometown Hero Suryana Knocked Out as Quarterfinals Completed at Best West Java Surfing Competition Presented by Quiksilver

17 June 2011, Cimaja-West Java: As the Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver races down towards the finish line, the Day 5 action kicked into overdrive with the competitors battling fiercely heat-by-heat for that coveted finals berth, with mere fractions of a point making the difference between advancement and disappointment.

Last year’s event winner Dede Suryana felt this disappointment today in Heat 8 of Round 4 in the final seconds of his dual with Wayan Susiana. He managed to catch a small inside wave and boost a small but perfectly executed aerial, needing a score of 4.85 out of 10 to win the heat and advance, but received a 4.70 to lose the heat by a mere .05 of a point.  It was Susiana with 10.75, Suryana 10.70.

On the other end of the scale were Lee Wilson and last year’s event runner up Pepen Hendrik.  Wilson dispatched Mustofa Jeksen in Heat 7 of Round 4 by a margin of 2.95 points, with Jeksen needing 8.05 points to take the win. Hendrik ended Mega Semadhi’s run for a semifinals berth in Quarterfinal 1 by margin of 3.0 points, ending the heat with 14.00 points to Semadhi’s 11.00 points.

Wilson and Marlon Gerber also posted the highest single wave scores of the day of 8 points out of a possible 10, with Wilson also nabbing the highest combined heat score of 14.85 out of a possible 20 in his matchup with Mustofa Jeksen.  Gerber’s Quarterfinal 3 heat against Yudi Andika saw him put up a 5-point wave and then top it with an 8 pointer for a total of 13 points for his first two waves, forcing Andika to scramble as Gerber sat on his priority for most of the remainder of the 30-minute heat.  Time ran out with Andika only able to put 10.75 points on the board to Gerber’s 13.00.

Wilson went on to rack up another 8-point wave in the last heat of the day in Quarterfinal 4 while ending Wayans Susiana’s run for a semifinal birth.  After slowly upping his scores with each successive wave, Wilson put together a series of carves, floaters, and cutbacks to end by popping up an aerial and landing it smoothly to punctuate an impressive performance.

Also competing today were the Masters Division contestants in their two semifinals, with last year’s Masters winner Kaput Wirtawan, together with Nyoman Wastika, Made Lapur, and Sujari all making it through and will be matched up in tomorrow’s Master’s Division Final.

The waves conditions throughout the morning varied from good to excellent, with 2-4 foot glassy waves on offer for the majority of the day’s competition, offering up a variety of opportunities to Asia’s best pro surfers on this the 6th day of the Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver at the cobblestone righthand point break at Cimaja.

Tomorrow will be the final day of competition and is scheduled to start at approximately 9:00 am depending upon wave conditions.  First up will be Open Division Semifinal 1, with Pepen Hendrik vs Dedi Santoso, then Semifinal 2 with Lee Wilson vs Marlon Gerber.

After Semifinal 2 will be the Masters Division Final, followed by either the Lines Airshow or the Open Final.

With a total prize purse in the Coca-Cola ISC and ASC Men’s Division of Rp 50 million and other specialty prizes from sponsors such as Power Balance for the Open Division “Power Move”, Women’s Division “Power Move”, Longboard Division “Power Nose Ride, DC Shoes “Most Innovative Maneuver”, Lines Airshow for the “Best Air” and Coca-Cola ISC “Best Wave”, it will a very exciting conclusion tomorrow with Asia’s best surfers going full on towards the finish line.

So be sure to come to Cimaja Beach to check out final day of the Best West Java Surfing Competition presented by Quiksilver, or you can also follow the on-line and view heat draws, heat and waves scores, video’s and photos and more at www.isctour.com/events/cimaja11 and on Facebook look up Indonesian Surfing Championship, Quiksilver Indonesia, and Roxy Indonesia.

The Best West Java 2011 Surf Competition is presented by Quiksilver and supported by Jim Beam, Coca-Cola Amatil Indonesia, Desa Resort & Spa, Augusta Hotel and Restaurant, Heineken, Power Balance, Pemda Sukabumi, Java Sport & Tourism Authority, and TP3TP.




You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment